Department of Political Science


Political Science Department of Women's College can claim the pride of being one of the oldest departments of the college since its inception. The department has been gradually evolving and has been successful in acquiring a special position in the entire state as our students have bagged the University toppers position several times. Presently Political science is offered as a course of study at the under graduate level, as Political Science Major with an Intake Capacity of 100 students per Semester and B.A. Political Science General Course with an Intake Capacity of 700 students. At present there are 6 (Six) sections per semester in operation to accommodate B.A. General Course students. Further it is also offered through distance mode at Under Graduate level. There are 7 faculty members in the department out of which 2(two) are Associate Professor, 3 (three) Post Graduate teachers and 2(two) Guest lecturer. The members of the department are actively involved not only in all academic affairs but also in all sorts of extra-curricular activities. All of them are very sincere and dedicated towards their professional duties. A cordial yet informal teacher-student relationship exists in the department creating an atmosphere conducive to all-round progress and overall personality development of the students.

Activities of the Department

Department Profile

Year of Establishment 1965
Name of HOD Smt. Tinku Das
Courses offered B.A (Major & General)
Intake Capacity Major: 100 & General: No limit
Entry level Qualification H.S.(+2) Passed
For Major course: 40% marks in aggregate & 50% marks in the subject.
For General course: 45% in aggregate 40% in the subject.
Faculty Position 03
Syllabus Click to download Syllabus

Faculty members

Sl.No. Name Designation Specialization Contact
1 Smt. Tinku Das Associate Professor International Relation

Click here for biodata
2 Sri Naresh Debnath Post Graduate Teacher International Relation

Click here for biodata
3 Smt. Ruma chowdhury Assistant Professor International Relation

Click here for biodata

Contact Us

Address of Communication:
Department of Political Science
Women's College
B.K. Road, Agartala
Tripura, India
Email ID: