Department of Physics

Department Profile

Year of Establishment 2004
Name of HOD Dr. Subrata Deb
Courses offered B.A (Major & General)
Intake Capacity Major: 20 & General: 45
Entry level Qualification H.S.(+2) Passed with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics
Faculty Position 04
Staff Members 02 (Lab Attendants)
Total Research Project Funding (Completed & ongoing) 01(one)
Syllabus Click to download Syllabus

Faculty members

Photo Name Designation Topics Taught Contact
Dr. Rahul Bhattacharjee Associate Professor Mathematical Physics, Wave and acoustic, Electromagnetic Theory, Solid State Physics, Statistical Mechanics, Computer Language 9436465886
Dr. Soma Banik Assistant Professor Mechanics, Optics, Acoustics and vibrations, Classical Mechanics, Electronics, Quantum Mechanics, Instrumental Methods 9436526017
Dr. Subrata Deb Assistant Professor & HOD 9436457640, 9774815864,
Smt. Jaya Bhowmik Post Graduate Teacher

Laboratory Facilities

  1. General Physics Lab
  2. Electrical Lab
  3. Optics Lab
  4. Electronics Lab
  5. Computer Lab

Details of Research groups

  1. Thin film
  2. Theoretical Condense Matter Physics
  3. Faculty members are doing research in collaboration with the Physics Department of Tripura University

Other information

  • The department has one solar power plant
  • The Departmental Library with more 500 books
  • Internet facility
  • Technology enabled (Smart Class) room

Programs Organized

  • Department of Physics organized a UGC Sponsored National Seminar on "Recent trends in research in Physics" on 23-24th July, 2015.

Contact Us

Address of Communication
Department of Physics
Women’s College
B.K. Road, Agartala
Tripura, India