Department of Political Science:

1.INTRODUCTION : Political Science Department of Women’s College can claim the pride of being one of the oldest departments of the college since its inception. The department has been gradually evolving and has been successful in acquiring a special position in the entire state as our students have bagged the University toppers position several times. Presently Political science is offered as a course  of study  at the under graduate level, as  Political Science Major with an Intake Capacity of 100 students per Semester and B.A. Political Science General Course with an Intake Capacity of 700 students.  At present there are 6 (Six) sections per semester in operation to accommodate B.A. General Course students. Further it is also offered through distance mode at Under Graduate level. There are 7 faculty members in the department out of which 2(two) are Associate Professor, 3 (three) Post Graduate teachers and 2(two) Guest lecturer. The members of the department are actively involved not only in all academic affairs but also in all sorts of extra-curricular activities. All of them are very sincere and dedicated towards their professional duties. A cordial yet informal teacher-student relationship exists in the department creating an atmosphere conducive to all-round progress and overall personality development of the students.

2. Year Of Establishment: 1965

3. Name of HOD: Smt. Tinku Das


Courses offered: B.A. Political Science Major & General

Intake Capacity:  Major-100,  General –No Limit

Entry level Qualification: HS+2 Examination Pass. For Major 40% marks in aggregate  & 50% marks in the subject .45% in aggregate 40% in the subject  for General Candidate.

Total NET/SLET Qualified Students: NA

Total No. of Ph. D. awarded students: NA

Total Research Project Funding (Completed & ongoing): NA


Faculty: 05

Staff Members: NIL

Ph. D Scholars: NIL


Image Name             Designation Specialization Contact Details
tinku  Smt. Tinku Das ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR International Relation


No Image

Sri Naresh Debnath

Post Graduate Teacher

International Relation



ruma Smt. Ruma chowdhury Post Graduate Teacher International Relation  
sunita Smt. Sunita Basfore Post Graduate Teacher Public Administration  

Seminar/Conference/Workshop/Refresher/Orientations etc. Organized: NIL

Contact Us:

Address of Communication:

Department of political science

Women’s College

B. K. Road, Agartala

Tripura, India

Pin-799 001

Email ID:

Contact No:


Other Details

Laboratory Facilities: NA

Details of Research groups: NIL

Collaborations: NIL

Syllabus : Download

Other Information:

Political science department of our college is actively involved in various social, cultural and academic affairs. Faculty members possess versatile talent and takes part in all seminars workshops relevant to their subject.  Some of the faculty members are also associated with IGNOU as well as distance mode of teaching. In brief all faculty members contribute their best individually as well as collectively for the welfare and smooth running of the department.